Australasian Challenge Rules 2022

Australasian Challenge – Rules and Regulations

The appropriate Australian State Councils and the New Zealand Philatelic Federation make formal entries to the Challenge. For Australian entries, it is the responsibility of State Councils to select the participants and to arrange for the completion and submission of the individual entry forms, payment of frame fees through their Commissioner/Judge and to ensure delivery of the exhibits to the Exhibition.

1 Composition of a Team Entry
  • Each team should have a total of six (6) entries comprising:
    • Four (4) adult entries, each from a different class
    • These could comprise any of the following:
      o Four 5-frame exhibits; or
      o Three 5-frame exhibits plus one 8-frame; or
      o Two 8-frame exhibits plus two 5-frame exhibits.
  • PLUS one of the following combinations:
    • One (1) adult ‘Novice’ entry and 1 Youth entry; or
    • Two (2) Youth entries; or
    • Two (2) Adult ‘Novice’ entries
  • However, teams with less than 6 members may still participate in the Challenge.
    • Each team member can only enter one exhibit.
    • No member of the Jury or close relative can enter an exhibit in the Challenge.
    • Each adult entry must comprise a total of at least five (16 sheet) frames; the only exception is that the novice entry can be in the range of 2-5 frames.
2 Classes
  • All FIP, Australian and New Zealand National classes (including Picture Postcards) are allowed with the exception of the Frugal and Literature classes.
  • Time Periods. Some classes have three time periods within the class, but it is not permissible to enter, in a single class, two or more exhibits of different time periods.
3 Novice Exhibitor
  • `Novice’ is defined as an adult exhibitor who has not previously obtained 70 points or more in a National Show (in Australia, New Zealand or elsewhere). This means an earlier exhibit in any class except 1-frame or literature.
  • The novice entries can be from any of the classes listed above, even if there is another adult entry in that class.
  • The novice entry can be in the range of 2-5 frames.
  • Novice entries submitted to an earlier Australasian Challenge cannot be re-entered as a novice entry in this Australasian Challenge, except those that scored less than 70 points at a previous Challenge.
4 Youth entry
  • This can be from any of the accepted FIP/APF/NZPF classes described in 2 above.
  • The number of frames must accord with the range appropriate to the age of the exhibitor, as described in FIP/APF/NZPF rules.
  • Youth competitors who entered an earlier Challenge can also enter future Challenges, provided they remain within the age limits.
5 Exhibits displayed in Previous Challenges
  • The APF and NZPF have decided, with the exceptions listed in the Appendix that exhibits entered in Previous Challenges can be re-entered in future Challenges.
  • The exceptions are that the two exhibits that gained the highest marks in the winning team in each earlier Challenge cannot be re-entered in this Challenge.
  • It is, however, permissible for these exhibitors to enter different exhibits in future Challenges.
6 Judging
  • All exhibits will be judged at National level using the FIP (or other approved APF and NZPF) rules, regulations and marking scheme. The marks for each of the six entries will be totalled and the Team with the highest number of marks will be declared the Champion.
  • Each individual entry will receive an Exhibition medal and certificate appropriate to the class achieved by the entry; in addition, mark sheets and critiques will be provided for individual entries.
  • The jury will comprise accredited National judges from Australia and New Zealand. Jury members will be selected to provide an overall balance of expertise appropriate to the exhibits and in relation to the geographical areas of the competing teams.
7 Winning Team
  • The winning Team will receive the Ed Druce Memorial Trophy.
  • This perpetual trophy was awarded in March 2002 to Western Australia, March 2004 to the ACT, March 2006 to North Island, NZ, November 2008, November 2010 to New South Wales, May 2012 to Queensland and 2019 to Victoria. Winners of the Challenge will hold the trophy until the next Challenge is held.
  • Prizes will be awarded to each of the six members of the winning team.

The two exhibits that gained the highest marks in the winning team in each earlier Challenge cannot be re-entered in this Challenge. These are as follows:

Challenge 1 in 2002 (Western Australia)

  • J Dibiase Fiscals of Western Australia
  • R Todd Indian Airmails 1911-1934

Challenge 2 in 2004 (ACT)

  • T Frommer Australia’s Contribution to World Airmails
  • D Fuller Leeward Is Postal Stationery

Challenge 3 in 2006 (New Zealand, North Is.)

  • J Banfield Airmails from Iraq
  • A Still Mourning Memorabilia

Challenge 4 in 2008 (New South Wales)

  • J Sadler Australian Air Mails 1914 – 1934
  • A Gray The Stamp Booklets of Australia 1904 -1935

Challenge 5 in 2010 – (New South Wales)

  • A Gray The 1d GV Issue of Australia, 1914-20
  • G Lewis Cuba Transatlantic Postal History

Challenge 6 in 2012 – (Queensland)

  • A. Craigie Self Adhesive Definitive Stamps of Australia, 1991-2000
  • J. Crowsley Elephantasia

Challenge 7 in 2014 (New Zealand, North Is.)

  • L. Chitty British Commonwealth POW Correspondence WWII Japanese Occupation
  • B. Chadderton Descent into the Abyss

Challenge 8 in 2016 (New Zealand, North Is.)

  • L Chitty British Commonwealth PoW Repatriation Mail WWII Japanese Occupation of the Far East
  • N Banfield Russian Airmail Services 1992-1980

Challenge 9 in 2019 (Victoria)

  • A Gray British New Guinea & Papua
  • G Brown Postal Stationery of Natal